Lighting Design Software

joshb167

I'm a student at a school and am looking for some free lighting design software that I can use to help me design shows and to show the teachers who want lighting what I am doing. I have done some searches and can't find anything. I've also herd of WYSIWYG but it's well beyond our budget (0!). We have conventional dimmers, some LED dimmers and occasionally hire in some moving heads. Does anyone have any suggestions on what is available (if anything!). Thanks in advance

I'm a student at a school and am looking for some free lighting design software that I can use to help me design shows and to show the teachers who want lighting what I am doing. I have done some searches and can't find anything. I've also herd of WYSIWYG but it's well beyond our budget (0!). We have conventional dimmers, some LED dimmers and occasionally hire in some moving heads. Does anyone have any suggestions on what is available (if anything!). Thanks in advance

http://www.blue-room.org.uk/index.php?showtopic=3369 - "What software is available for creating lighting rig plans?"

Should be a good starting point B-)

You are a bit confused between visualisers, like wyg where the beauty is that you can enter your stage and set and then the fixtures, focus them and see roughly what it looks like - or you want something you can draw simple plans on, or ....

What exactly do you need to show your teachers with the limited kit at your disposal? Wyg is over the top, and being frank, takes a long time to learn how to use, then a decent time to get your set in, then more time to produce the image you're after!

Maybe a piece of paper would be better, simpler and look better?