Mac250 Stepper Driver Problems

righttoe

Hi guys, ive had a search but cant find a answer to my question.

I have 6 Mac250's in work, which Ive just repaired but one has a final fault I cant solve, the pan motor is sticky on reset and at fast speeds, it will either lock up when powering up the fixture, and you have to give it a nudge, or it will jerk when moving fast on a test.

Now I have swopped over the motor with a working one, and the fault is still there, so then I swopped over pan and tilt cables on the mainboard, this transfered the fault to the tilt, so its the driver on the board somewhere, I have swapped over the '3772' chips for pan and tilt and that did nothing, and I cant seem to find any other things I can swop, any ideas?

I know I can buy a replacement board but they are very expensive and im not a newbie to soldering electronics so would like to try to repair it myself first!

Any help much appriecated

Mike

I've had similar problems with MAC250s before, and I found that one of the 1ohm (IIRC) resistors next to the 3772 controller chip had gone open circuit.

Try testing them with a multimeter.

The other likely cause is a broken wire going through the yoke. I replaced about a dozen sets of wires in 250's when I worked at a well-known UK holiday resort. Broken wires are quite often the cause of 'FbEp' errors because one (or more) of the wires from the opto-slotted disc is broken. when you give the wire a pull, it should feel solid, but a broken one will stretch the insulation at the breakage. You're best to replace the whole set (normally 5 or 6 wires), as it's likely that others are only holding in there with a few strands. When I did it, I replaced the pin header plugs too, as it's easier than trying to solder new wires onto old pins that small. They're literally only a few pence at decent electronics suppliers (CPC link).