Classic Rock 4 piece band Active PA on £2500???

Bejam

Hi All.

I've been lurking for a while and didn't want to hijack the budget speakers thread, hence this new one. I'm a drummer in a 4 piece rock band - AC:DC, Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy covers etc.

At the mo, we're running as an independent backline - drums, bass and guitar - with a cheapo Soundlab powered mixer into unbranded plastic thingies handling vocals - it's OK, but since the bassist changed his cab, I can no longer hear my kick drum and it's frustrating me.

Right now I can afford to buy a new rig. I'd prefer to spend not more than around £2500, to include a mixer and cables. We can use the Soundlab setup as stage monitors.

I'd prefer to go active as I'll be hoiking it all around with my drums. I read on one of the other threads that there are some unbranded bloke-in-a-shed systems. Any recommendations? I'm looking for the best bang for buck, high quality and easy portability - not asking for much, I know.

So far, I've been looking at some well known brands - something like a pair of dB F12's or Opera Live 405's plus a pair of Sub15's, HK "Elias" system or even the Thomann own-brand stuff etc.

Most of the time we'll be gigging pubs - so ideally it would be a modular system that's scalable down just to vocal reinforcement. But I would like to be able to host the occasional garden party/mini festival and put the whole band through the PA - including Drums and Bass. It may be that I should go for a mid-sized setup like the dB F212's and hire in subs. But I live in the darkest depths of Cornwall and I'm currently attached to the idea of owning the whole rig and lending it out to people locally as and when needed.

I want to go for high quality - but I'd love to know if there's anything out there that breaks the rules in terms of how much money one has to spend. I'm also happy to add extra components further down the line if needed.