Newbie Question

Latchy

Hello,

I have always wondered at the live shows what those things where in there ears. I found out, its a Monitoring System. But what I dont know is what are they actually hearing though those ear phones?

Rob

Hi Rob,

First off - Welcome to the Blue Room :]

In reply to your question, it's totally up to the proformer. It would usually be a simualar mix though the foldbacks...

It can depend on the application though. Say broadcast, the operator may give cues to the presenter etc.

I'm sure other posters will go into greater detail...

Ryan.

Thanks for your reply Ryan. What do you mean by 'simulator mix though the foldbacks'. As I said, I am a newbie. I know the basics but thats about it for sound. I'm more of a Lighting technician :-D (still need help from time to time)

Rob

Ryan, as this is a pretty 'newbie' question words like 'foldback' are not really going to help.

Basically Rob they are headphones, the performer can chose what he wants to hear.

If it's a vocalist with a band, he/she can ask for a certain mix. (I.e their own voice, and band)

Different singers require different things.

If it's moulded IEM's (In Ear Monitors) that you have seen, the wearer is completly isolated from any sound other than what's coming through the 'headphones', so the vocalist has to know what is going on, usually they hear themselves and the band a little lower, reverb or 'echo' on the singers vocals is their choice.

FWIW, they serve the same function as the 'wedge' shaped speakers you often see on the stage pointing at the performers, but the advantage of IEMs is that they don't spill sound into the microphones, so you don't get any feedback.