Just done a crap gig - could not control feedback

oligoon

Ok guys - I'm fairly new to this so go easy on me :D

Just done a gig at the local school hall, which I've done a few times before. the acoustics are pretty nasty with lots of refelctions from the end wall.

however this time I took longer with my setup and had a few more bells and whilstles. I've got equalisers for the monitor and house mixs and spent an hour with the A&H acoustic analyser software removing the feedback frequencies. however even at this stage I noticed really early onset of feedback, particularly on the house side, which the frequency notching helped - but did not stop.

The speakers were positioned about 5 foot in front of the lines of the mics, angled slightly (~15 degrees) into the centre.

mics were 3 off SM58, 1 off sennheiser 865, the SM58's seemed to be worse culprits. drums were miced (kick,snare & overhaeds) plus 2 SM57 on guiotar amps (Bass DI).

main speakers beyma CP600 on top of PDN15 driven by chevin amps. monitors are pair of 150W

anyhow had a miserable evening trying to control the feedback - one father (professional sound engineer) gave me a right bollicking - I asked him for some contructive advice - but he said sort it at sound check. 7 bands to do in 3 hours and they always arrive on stage with no leads, not tuned etc & why wasn't he doing the gig (always unpaid)?

ended up virtually with nothing on the monitors to try to control it - but was still bad.

one thing I did notice was that as soon as they stopped playing the feedback got much worse - but I guess this is the compressor releasing?

anyway - feels better to have got that lot off me chest - but anyone got any suggestions as to why this was?

Ditch the compressor, always a good start. Make up gain is a nightmare for that kind of thing.