Zero88 Rackmaster

KevinE

Hi, I have a Zero 88 Rackmaster 260 which wants to put out around 100V (on load) all the time on each of the 6 channels. Ive turned all the preheats right down, and according to the manual, unplugging the fader desk will kill the preheats and take the output to zero..which it doesnt. The thing is, it's on all 6 channels..which are discrete channels with their own power supplies etc shared in pairs. have I got a full set of faulty boards here, or am I doing something wrong?

kev

Sounds like a problem with a reference voltage somewhere, or possibly the entire low voltage supply.

I would've thought the outputs should have pre-heat applied even without a desk plugged in, but I can't say for certain whether that's the case or not. A mate of mine has one of these so he might be able to check if it's not buried under a pile of gear.

A mate of mine has one of these so he might be able to check if it's not buried under a pile of gear.

Cheeky f*****, I'm not that untidy! It's in the workshop at the moment awaiting repair as one channel has died.

Seems strange that it's doing it on all 6 channels, because as you say, they're in pairs that are pretty much independent. Maybe a problem with the ground connection of the control signal between the boards? If that's floating then it could do strange things. I'll have a poke inside mine later.

Only other thought - I assume you've got some load on it? Leakage through the triacs and filters will give you a meter reading on the outputs even with the channels down.

Edit - typo

I assume you've got some load on it

Yeah, I'm using 100W light bulbs at the moment. The manual definitely states that the preheat is switched off if no desk is detected plugged in.

The dimmers are buzzing so I assume they're being told to fire from somewhere...and 100V is alot for a preheat anyhow!