Panto wages

guyparry

Hi all. I've been a pro in the industry a while but never worked a panto before. I've been offered a C.S.M. position in a regional theatre for their panto this year. At the interview I was told the wage would be the standard T.M.A./Equity with the additions for the extra shows. I can't seem to find the info about the extras on either the T.M.A. or Equity websites. It's a standard 3.5 week rehearsal and then 12 shows a week. Any ideas anyone? Cheers. G x

Sorry Timmy, I think you've got the wrong end of the stick. I don't think the rate card answers the question - I think you need the Equity / TMA sub rep agreement, pages relating to overtime rates..

from memory, each performance above the usual 8 per week attracts a payment of an extra eighth of the weekly wage - e.g if weekly wage for 8 shows or less = £400, then 9 shows would be £450, 10 shows would be £500, etc

It's a while since I did any stage management work or read the equity rule book, so things may have changed, but that is where to look for the information. Equity should be able to supply any member with a copy.

(NB "£400" chosen as weekly wage for ease of arithmatic - not because I think that's what a CSM gets paid)

• 3 months later...

Zion - those rates don't apply for this job - it is not hourly paid.

Depends a bit on who you work for, but the TMA/Equity rate is the one that will apply, and I suspect you'd be offered a price for the job. No set hours, on a do your best contract if you're new to the production company. No overtime, no extras itemised - just a single price for the period. You can expect this to be rolled up to include extra for holidays/bank holiday working and subsistence - as per the agreements.