MIDI to DMX lighting controller

Adam_Dawson

Hi,

I am a guitarist with a MIDI control board for my rack equipment and I'm looking for a rack unit which will convert MIDI into pre-programnmed DMX scenes to send out to some intelligent lighting fixtures. So, when I go into a solo etc. the same button to change my rack amp will also kick in a programmed moving head. Or when I press another button I can black out my DMX parcans.

Is there such a product out there?

Thanks for your help!

Adam

I'm sure there are several topics on this subject already on the BR. Have a look on the search (top right of this page), and I'm fairly sure that you'll get some helpful results.

If that fails, have a look at the MagicQ software from www.chamsys.co.uk, it can be used to have scenes triggered from MIDI messages using their MIDI interface.

What hardware do you already have? Do you have a DMX adapter / small desk?

MIDI is not used a a 'tigger' like audio; on the boards it corresponds certain signals and octaves with the buttons on the board.

some boards have the option for a remote foot switch.. that maybe a better option (and alot cheaper too)

It would probably be alot easier to setup with a software based controller

or get one of those small 1U DMX consoles that just have scene buttons you have to program with another controller and just put that in the rack after programed

one of those small 1U DMX consoles that just have scene buttons you have to program with another controller