Headphones for live sound mixing

mikeysmith

I wondered if anyone could help answer what could well be a fairly straightforward question about headphones!

I run a function band in which I play keys and also control the main mix (which isn't ideal I know, but generally I manage to get good results). Being a student, I try and use inexpensive equipment as much as possible, which led me to purchase some Beyer DT231 headphones to help with the mixing etc, rather than the more expensive DT100s etc.

However, even with the phones output level on the mixer turned up all the way, the ambient noise of the band (which is right next to me) completely blocks out all the sound in the headphones, meaning using them is pretty useless.

My question is, is this due to the design of the headphones, my audio set-up, or am I just too close to the band to be able to do anything useful with headphones on? The headphones have an impedance 32 ohms and SPL of 95DB and plugged straight into the mixer (a Mackie CFX20). Should I be looking to purchase some higher spec headphones, or a headphone amplifier, or should I just admit defeat and continue mixing without using the headphones?!

I would suggest that If you are mixing from the stage, to have a pair of whatever cabs you are using strapped to your head.

Why?

because you will never hear the sound the audience is hearing from headphones.

Do a really good sound check, ring out the mics etc, them have some decent IEMs for the level.

Another vote for the HD25's from me, too. Either version is pretty good for the price-point. These days I'd buy the full-fat model, but the cheaper HD25SP's have been "good enough" for most gigs in the six years I've had them...

Let's all just hang on a minute here.