Forsyte Saga - Art Gallery

ben_annas

Hi there, im currently helping build a set for a play called, "The Forsyte Saga" im sure everyone has heard of it, at least because of the ITV series that was on television not to long ago, or from the book...

My problem:

There is a scene in the play that is based in a Art Gallery, the director and designer wants four pictures to fly downwards downstage of the back frame of the set, so it helps the audience understand that they art in a Art Gallery...

Flying them in? Fine

Making the Frames, and Canvasing them? Fine!!

THE ONLY PROBLEM, is I dont have a clue about art work and paintings, I dont want to put a picture that was painted in the late 1800's as it will of been painted after the era of the play.

I really need some advice on what paintings I should use, maybe even artists I could look at to get them from? im really not a scenic artist, so I cant really paint them either, so if anyone has any advice on where to get them printed onto canvas? or even a poster of them in like A2 size! id be greatly appriciated.

Obviusly, with the credit crunch money is tight, so please no advice to go out and buy some 1000 pound printer or anything like that...

But seriusly, any help would be appriciated, I have had enough of searching google looking at 18 - 19th century artists!!!

(BACKGROUND OF THE PLAY INCASE NEEDED)

the time the play is set, changes through out the show, it goes from mid 1800's to late 1800's and so as the show goes on the set starts to age, and the lighting changes and so does the costume.

Thats about all I can think of right now, as im trying to do West Side Story at the same time so my brains a bit over driven, especially for a student as well...

Anything anyone can add would be appriciated or anything anyone can help with would be as well!