Strand USB pc control

paulears

I've seen the usb software to allow network control of their 500/300 desks from a remote pc. is it any good. seems to be around £130 and allows monitoring and control of the main desk via cat5 connections.

I've no experience at all of lighting and networks. there appears to be a network card in the main desk - is it as simple as a reverse cat 5 cable between the two?

I've no experience at all of lighting and networks. there appears to be a network card in the main desk - is it as simple as a reverse cat 5 cable between the two?

Yup that's about it. All you need is a crossover cat 5 cable, or you can use standard hubs as it uses TCP/IP.

Strand supply a USB drive that acts as a dongle. You can also backup shows onto it. It works great with a laptop as a designer's display on the production desk. You view the console screens in windows on your remote pc so you only need one monitor. Although if your laptop supports it (most do), you could plug in a second monitor.

IIRC it is possible to have full control of the main console but you have to work with the standard pc keyboard, and the layout isn't particulary friendly. You can buy an (expensive) designers keyboard that is essentially a custom pc keyboard with a different layout. This will turn your laptop into a full user friendly remote.

The ability to create a Strand 'Shownet' network is a powerful option as you can also plug 'nodes' into the network that will output DMX, riggers, remote display of the main console etc.

Edit: for more info USB Designers Remote

Strand supply a USB drive that acts as a dongle.  You can also backup shows onto it.  It works great with a laptop as a designer's display on the production desk.  You view the console screens in windows on your remote pc so you only need one monitor.  Although if your laptop supports it (most do), you could plug in a second monitor.