stairville DMX controller

ed zac

Hi can anyone help

I am new to DMX and have purchased a StairvilleDJ-X16 CONTROLLER AND 8 PAR64 Stairville LED cans. having read some of the other topics I see the stairville is the same as a soundlab GO18WG. I want to get the most out of the cans and they have 8 dip switches on the back can anyone advise how I set these to get the best from the lightrs using the controller. Also the manual seems a bit thin on the ground in terms of guidance so any help would be much appreciated

Firstly, Hello and welcome to the blue room. :tearshair:

Now, onto your question, the dip switches on the back of the lanterns are for addressing the fixtures. I wont go into binary addressing now but either google it or I seem to remember a good video on youtube using very similar controller and lights, (I'll see if I can find it)

To be honest (as a matter of opinion) your the only one who can get the best out of your particular lights and in your particular situation. :wall:

Any other questions feel free to ask, there are many more people on here who are far more knowledgeable about this sort of thing an have much more experience than me.

I hope that helps. :yahoo:

B

EDIT: there are 2 parts to the video which can be found here:

and here:

I seem to remember a good video on youtube using very similar controller and lights

Though that's a completely different controller. B-)

I think think the Stairville DJ X 16 is the same as this one. It's only 16 channels of DMX it would seem.

If the same as mine the PARs are 5 channel each, so you can control 3 of them separatly, you'll have to run two sets of 3 & one pair or some such combination. The first needs to be DMX address 1 - set dip switch one on & the rest off. Second needs to be 6 - 2nd & 3rd dips on. Third set to 11 so that's switches 1, 2, & 4 on. That should give you control of 3 lights.