Questionable rigging

Kevin Ross

Hi,

Thought I would ask a question here as I’m by no means an expert on rigging. Last night I was doing a gig at a venue that shall remain nameless (for now) they have a peavey system with 1 top over 1 sub each side i.e. a classic speak on stick job. The venue is an old small barn with brick walls and a high roof. Most of the time it was a struggle mixing in there if there were not a lot of people. I suggested a while ago that they look to get some kind of flown system so they could aim the speakers down into the crowd and keep it off the walls/roof.

Anyway I went back there and they have flown their 2 tops off an exposed roofing joist and as far as I can see there are a few problems.

1. They have flown them by using a shackle on the lifting handles of the cabs (the cabs have no fly-ware)

2. No secondary safety chain

3. The chains are screwed into the joists and right angles on these little D-ring type clamps

4. The joist is as old as the building (1800’s) and does not have a SWL printed on it for obvious reasons!

The whole lot is flown maybe 15’ in the air and looks a bit suspect to me. I want to know is it legal to fly cabs in like that? As I always thought it was a big no no to fly cabs from their handles

I will post pictures when I get back home

p.s mods feel free to move this if it is not in the correct forum

If that were me I would have been out of there like a shot. Leaving aside the fairly important points 2-4, if the cabs don't have flying points on them, it's a fair bet that they shouldn't be flown!

It's incredibly lucky that nobody has been hurt yet.

You need to tell the venue in question to get this sorted ASAP before somebody is seriously injured or worse. If they are dismissive of the risks then it's your duty to get the HSE involved as this sort of DIY rigging will completely invalidate any sort of PLI should an accident occur and somebody decides to make a claim.