How do I get a Job?????

Im a student at Rose Bruford, studying Stage Management. This was a huge step for me, as I wanted to go into acting (career change did me good tho!!!!) Basically, im finding it sooooo hard to get any crewing work, or basic experience in any theatres in or around london. I've sent my CV out to many places, my CV isnt crap tho, its good...as I have had a CV clinic done on it, which made it much better.

Is it my approach to things, or something im doing wrong???

HELP!!!

Giggles :)

If you're still a student, then surely your tutors and teachers can help - they are bound to know at least some of the people who do the hiring. Although summer is a very quiet time in my neck of the woods (Belfast) theatre-wise, I don't know what London is like for work.

Maybe there is something on it that puts people like us off? Having a CV clinic is fine IF, the people doing it speak our language. If you don't mind criticism, quite a few on here would be able to comment - BUT don't if you don't like good honest comment. If you look at the other topics, you'll find that often CVs are accidentally coded with DO NOT EMPLOY written between the lines.

Up to you, really

Guest lightnix
...theatres in or around london.

Why just theatres?

Why cut yourself off from the majority of all known employment opportunites - most of which pay better or will eventually lead to better rates than theatre can muster?

The entertainments industry is a huge place, with all sorts of opportunities.

Why not check out some local crewing and hire companies?

oh oh - I can see a theatre vs Rock n Roll competition coming on!!! Look what you've started!

But I agree with lightnix. Don't limit yourself to just one genre. There's loads of work out there in all sectors of the market and you'll find that when one is quiet, the other is usually busy. (theatre is quiet in summer, but festival season is in overdrive just now).