Removing hum

JimmyL

This is probably a beginner's question, but I am a beginner.

I am trying to move my old vinyl record and cassette tape collection to my computer and from there to my iPod. I am using a Mac G5 computer. I am inputting into the computer using a cable that has two RCA plugs at one end to hook to the receiver output, and a small cylindrical plug to go into the sound input on the computer. I input using the Apple program GarageBand.

When I input a song from vinyl records, or from a cassette tape that taped from a vinyl record, I get an annoying hum, or buzz. I would like to eliminate that hum.

GarageBand has 29 filters, most of which have manual adjustments to them. Someone told me to use the AUParametric EQ, but could not tell me the settings to use. The three settings are

Center Frequency (20 to 22050 Hz)

Q (1 to 20)

Gain (-20 to 20)

Needless to say, Apple computer does not give me any instructions on what to use this for, or how to pick the proper settings.

There are 28 other filters, including AUDynamics Processor, AUFilter, AUGraphic EQ, etc. I do not understand any of them.

If there is an expert or hobbyist out there who knows, please tell me which filter to use, and what setting to use, to eliminate the hum, without doing too much damage to the underlying sound quality.

By the way, I am in the United States, and we have 60 Hz alternating current electricity.

I hope you can help me.

I may be asking too much, but when I input to the computer from a cassette tape, I get a very mild hissing sound. It is not nearly as annoying, but if someone knows how to get rid of that, that also would be helpful. But I am most concerned about the hum from vinyl records and would be very happy if I could learn an easy way to get rid of it.

Thanks so much.

Jim Lawrence

ynot@earthlink.net