Noob Questions!

oligoon

Ok guys - I'm fairly new to sound engineering - so go easy on me ;)

I've just done my first gig using my new PA set up at the local schools battle of the bands. The music was quite diverse from Blink 182 and Foo Fighters stylee to acoustic guitar/singer.

My rig consists of:-

2 off PA Speakers - home built using each with 15" Precision devices low range speakers (8 ohm) and 2 CTS 1188 Piezo's

1 off Chevin A1000 Amp

1 off BSS FCS 966 31 channel graphic

3 off SM58 for vocal

3 off SM57 for instruments

This was hooked together using the schools desk (Allen & Heath 25 channel desk) & I used the schools powered mixer & speakers for foldback.

The speakers were designed using WinISD are are good from about 48hz up. I went for the piezo's for simplicity (no crossover), low weight, low(ish) cost, accepting that sound quality would not be hifi :unsure: .

Generally I was pleased with the way that the system performed, with people saying that it sounded better than normal :P . And I had no real feedback issues with careful monitor/mic placement and taking out offending frequencies on the graphic.

However there were a few issues:-

1. the overall sound was a bit muddy most of the time.

2. on the quiet acoustic guitar/female vox the sound was thin, coarse and strained.

3. for the loud foo fighters stylee bands where the vocalist was shouting into the mic pushing the system into clip (shown on the graphic - amp was ok).

My questions are these:-

1. Using the filters on the desk restrict each input channel to a frequency "slot" to clean up the overall sound (issue 1). Is this correct? Or is there a better way to do it?

2. Use a separate box mounting compression drivers (and appropriate crossover - have a BSS FDS360 and will bi amp) instead of the piezo tweeters to improve sound quality to help with issue 2? Should I use a high quality condeser mic for "quiet" music rather than the SM58?