Line Level audio in for laptop

audibleresponse

I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to audio recording, but I saw this thread and would like to ask a few question that are "somewhat" relevant to the discussion here. So, my apologies in advance if I seem to be hi-jacking the intent of this thread. Please let me know if I need to re-locate this post.

I am seeking to capture line level audio, from an XLR connector, into my laptop. I'm recording/streaming a discussion amongst panelists at a seminar and I will have access to their PA system - the XLR connector provided will mix all of the panelist's microphones into a single balanced output.

As far as the interface, I'm currently evaluating the M-Audio Fast Track Pro, as a USB option, or the Digigram VXPocket v2, as a PCMCIA option. However, seeing this discussion about wireless options certainly is intriquing.

With respect to a wireless option, I'm interested to know:

• If I can utilize a product such as the Sennheiser SKP100 to wirelessly transmit the line level output from their XLR connector? If not the SKP100, is there another product that I can use to transmit this line level signal, say 20ft?
  • What are my options for receiving this transmitted signal? I am seeking a small device that will receive this one-signal and that will interface with either a XLR connector (from the M-Audio or Digigram devices) or a firewire/usb connector.

Thanks in advance for your input ;)

Although I've not personally used this model, the Sennheiser EW 112-p G2 should do the job although you will need an XLR gender-bender (F-F) for the XLR feed to the transmitter. The CL1 jack lead can then plug from the receiver into your laptops Line-In or the line input of an external USB/firewire audio card.