Some Questions

ashrobinson

Hi All,

I am fairly new to the production side of things, I know my way round a lighting board, can understand the concept of dimmers and cabling, know how to use a mixer and various other bits of normal kit, but there are some things I don't understand.

1. I need to order a Multicore+Stagebox, now im looking at some and it says like 24send and 8 return.

What do these numbers actually mean?

I have seen stageboxes etc but can't figure out what the send/return actually mean (apart from I guess sending signal to 24 devices and returning from 8? but cant figure out what would need to return).

unfortunately my speciality is IT, and they have put me in charge of our theatre (because its electrical, and computers use electric too <_<) which is fine cause im keen to learn.

2. Also I am looking for some XLR Leads and some jack-jack leads, not a problem but I can't seem to find anywhere if there is a max run per cable? or they signal boosting or anything, so just wondering on that front. Any recommendations on type to stop anhykind of interference?

3. We have in our Theatre, 2 Speakers, I would like to up this to 4 speakers (sound output all around room pointing at majority of audience).

now I have a 600w Amp, and its 300 per channel, so how can I hook this up to 4 speakers if there are only 2 outputs out the back of it? there a way of splitting cable so 1 output goes to 2 speakers? to I will have 2 left 2 right?

4 . Smoke machine for a small theatre, any reccomendations? would like a Hazer (low level smoke?)

5. Need to purchase a DI box for our laptop to stop annoying hum, suggestions?

APologies for all the questions. Just in case I Will post what we have.

1 x Alcora 24/48 Lighting Board

1 x Yamaha MG16 SOund Board

1x Stageline 600w Mixer (300 per channel)

2 x TOA speakers (old old old) 200w

3 x Shure SM58 Microphones

6 x Audio TEchnica 1600 Series Lapel Microhones

Cheers,

Ash