Cueing sounds - comments sought

palantir

Greetings

First off - I'm an enthusiastic amateur:

The show, Wiz of Oz panto, starts february 10th & I'd appreciate comments on my method of firing sound cues while there's time for changes.

Although I use a computer to download, edit & multitrack sounds, I'm loathe to commit to running the entire shebang from the laptop; therefor my setup is :-

CD player runs all music tracks for dance etc.

Minidisk has all ambient/background sounds

Multiplay (on the laptop) for Listed cues (Entry of witch etc.)

Soundplant " for the rapid-reaction sounds (thunder, squeaky wheels, farts etc.......)

I've run pretty much this way for a few years now & it works well for me .... However, changing rapidly from Soundplant to Multiplay for quick-following cues, it's very easy to forget to click on the Multiplay window, resulting in Soundplant staying live & firing-off a sound as I hit the keyboard:

Can be embarassing :) .

Can anyone suggest how to make this setup idiot-proof? Or is there a better ( cheap ) approach ?

Thanks

Pete

Can anyone suggest how to make this setup idiot-proof? Or is there a better ( cheap ) approach ?

Easy - use our free version of SoundMan-Designer for all playbacks and show control - you can script it all and create a large number of hot buttons to trigger all the spot effects as well.

http://www.richmondsounddesign.com/index.html

Any of the decent audio playback tools will do everything you want in one program. A cue list with scripted sounds, and keys for instant reaction. Playing back an ambient whilst firing off cues is bread and butter. I think theres even a section in the Wiki about sound playback stuff.

I use PCStage which is harder to use in some ways than some of the more popular tools, but has more depth than some other options.