new pa system

djtom29

Hi guys

im sure you will all know now im a year 10 student working in my school! I have done gigs outside of school and for my friend who is also on br. the last gig I did whent well but I had a problem, my pa/hifi wasnt loud enough....its prity loud but lacking in the power section.

I was hoping to get a complet pa system with a reasonable size desk (bout 16 ch) for around £700

this would include speakers and amps(if needed as I am open to using active kit) the one thing I dont want is the amp in the desk.......any ideas were I could start and where to go for equptment as this is my first "real" pa system?

thanks in advance

tom

My advice is DON'T DO IT! You're on a slippery slope to gear collection/gear lust syndrome. In 10 years time you'll have a room full of kit you never use...

If you really want to buy, in that budget I'd look at second hand. Check the history, has it been trashed, soaked in beer, thrown around by big hairy roadies etc...

If you want new stuff, look at the studiospares auditorium range.

There are some good deals out there.

10 years time? pah! I've been collecting useless studio stuff I never use, to the value of around £2k so far..

HK do reasonably priced 'decent' PA, but another "cheap" manufacturer would be the thomann "the box" range. I have a few of their wedges, and for the money they aren't bad!

Hi

I would second the studiospares stuff

Have used a couple of times and is very good

and well made for the money

I have brought a few of the drivers they use in them

for quick fix replacements for other cabs and they seem

very good quality

The 2 x 15 + CD is a monster

£700 is a big ask for the kit your after

I would go for something like a second hand pair of good old Peavey Hisys 2's

and a powered mixer

Studiomaster or dynacord

systems like this often pop up on evilbay and may come with a few extras like a mic or 2

and stands etc

A lot of people will give me abuse for suggesting the peavey,s