Low Fogger problems and info needed

allymoss

Hi,

I am new to this sort of stuff and I have been put in charge of lighting and effects at a school. They are doing a production and so far so good

except

We have a low fogger, quite bit, put ice in and the fluid stuff. Quite expensive as it has DMX control and handheld controller.

1. Anyway, the waterpump is really loud, and doesn't pump much water unless you tip the whole thing sideways. is this usual?

2. What is the best way to get the most fog out of it before it needs to heat up again so you can do another burst of fog. Do you need to crush the ice (I am using ice cubes currently) Also, how much, I put a bag of ice cubes in and it fills to about 1/3 full, should I fill it?

3. If I want to make a wall of fog for someone to walk through (elvis :blink: ) should I mount the machine higher, we have a gantry right above where it usually sits.

4. Is a fan a good idea? To blow fog, I have seen it done and it just blows it up in the air and it expands and goes clear very quickly.

Any help appreicated

does having DMX control make it expensive?

1) They usually are loug, they are not designed to be used during a show. Use them in the interval when the iron is in or between shows. Tipping the water out the front is usually much easier.

2) Use either DMX or a timer remote and play with the settings to get about 60-80% output or bursts of about 10s on 5s off and it will not cut out when you get the settings right. Instead of thick bursts you will get a constant, not so thick, flow. About half full on both sides is the min for an OK effect. The more you put in the better the effect will be.

3) I expect you have the wrong kit for the job. If you mount it higher and let it flow off a "gantry" it will hit the warmer air around it and turn to normal fog before it hits the floor. If it will work I expect you will need a lot of ice in it to cool the fog as much as possible.