Gate/Limiter/Compressor

Josh 2

Hi all,

I know aspects of this are covered elsewhere, but could anyone please help put my thoughts straight.

First, remember I'm only a newbie and never intend wire up the Albert Hall, so think small club band.

So the questions… I'm thinking about adding a gate/limiter/compressor to my humble kit and from what I have so far read, I can't figure if I need a separate unit for each of the channels in use, or is it one unit for the final mix?

I'm also wondering (I think I know the answer!)… these units seem to vary greatly in cost, is it a case of 'you get what you pay for', or do you pay for unnecessary frills on some units?. I know the good and bad camps for Behringer, but I've seen a 4 channel ( http://www.behringer.com/MDX2600/index.cfm?lang=eng ) for less than 100gbp which would mean (if it's the correct way to go) that four of these units would independently cover all of the 16 mixer inputs that I currently use, but I'd rather save up for higher brand kit if necessary.

Something else that has just come to mind, I'm also thinking about a 31 channel equaliser (my desk only has 2x9 channel), again would I need one of these for each mixer input or one for the final mix.

Thanks for any help and sorry if I have any terminology wrong.

Josh.

Stating with the graphic, it's normal to have one (channel) on each output. So left, right, mon1, mon2 or whatever.

Gates , usually get inserted into each of the channels they are being used on, but this would hardly ever be all of the channels. Note that the gate that is sometimes built into a compressor unit usually does not have enough controls to be much use, so get a dedicated gate unit. You need to be able to set threshold, hold & release at least, & I like to have attack & range there too.

Comps can & do get used in either of the above ways and are also sometimes used on subgroups. Again though, it would be unusual to find comps on all the channels.