What Vision Mixer?

dreddie

Dear All,

I'm a researcher in surgical technology and hoping to mix stereo graphics with a stereo endoscope view that the surgeon has of the patient. This involves taking the output of two graphics cards and mixing them with the endoscope output (composite BNC or S-video).

Previously we have used two Panasonic WJ-MX50s for this purpose, but they are really too chunky to fit into the operating room. A while back I thought I saw something called an Edirol V400HD which looked ideal for around £1-2k. Can't find it at all now, though. Must have dreamt it.

The advantage of the Edirol seemed to be that it would mix RGB and video directly (rather than us using the video output of the graphics cards) and was a bit smaller.

It now seems there's only the Edirol V-4 (non RGB) or the V440HD which weighs in at £8-9k. In case there is any chance we could stretch to that budget, can anyone confirm that the V440HD will be able to mix two completely separate channels of RGB and video and provide two independent outputs?

Does anybody have advice as to what mixer we should go for? Compact size is important. I guess two V-4s would do it. It's vital to be able to fade in and out with chroma-key, by the way.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for any advice you can give,

Eddie.

Eddie,

Hi, - I'm just trying to understand what is going on here,

Did you own the WJ-MX50s that you used previously - if so do you have scan converters for the vga sources, if not then what resoloution are the vga sources.

If you do still have the WJ-MX50s then is it not possible to remote them and trigger them in the theatre via a push button switch into their GPI interfaces?

I'm suprised you don't have anyone video inclined at imperial in your department, I know there were a couple of video chaps working on stereo imaging in UCL who came from a video background who should be able to sort out your problems.

good luck.

James