Multi input Soundcards / HD Recorders

iBORG88

Ello peeps,

Just after a few opinions.

I work as a FOH engineer, mixing various stuff from 5 or 6 mics to 48 channel full band mixes. I'm basically looking to mixdown full mixes to logic/sx and master later after the live mix.

My preference would be HD Recorder, reason being I'm not a great fan of pc stability!!!

Unfortunately my company seem to be more interested in money than anything else so its a bit hard the convince them to buy me HD just so I can do a few private recordings!! but it is a bit easier to get them to buy a fairly good PC/Soundcard effort!!

I had a look about at a few but I guess the best place to ask would be here with the people that use equipment rather than sell it!!

All I've managed to find so far are 10x10 cards, I'm really looking for more inputs, 24-36 would be good.

Any advice on either HD recorders or multi input sc's would be cool,

Cheers peeps

I've just bought an Alesis I|O 26, which seems to be a remarkable bargain. 8 ins and outs on board, plus 2 ADAT inputs. So combined with a couple of Behringer ADA8000s (or similar) and you've got 24 inputs. The unit is about £300. I think you're right about PC stability though. I would be apprehensive about trusting an important live recording to it.

Hi,

I've been running a Macbook Pro with a Metric Halo 2882 on live shows for some time. It's been very solid with the Metric Halo Recording Software, It will

take up to 18 inputs (1 x ADAT, 8 x Analogue and 1 x AES)

On the HD front I have found the Mackie SDR to be very reliable (Although sadly they are no longer in production) Once I was in cyprus doing a recording in a

remote village, There was a power cut mid-show and amazingly the Mackie captured everything glitch free!

Regards

Griff Hewis