Radio mics

ian hatch

Hi there, this is my first posting, so I'm going to see how it goes.

Just purchased 4 Sennheiser EW365 radio mic systems, and as I'm new to radio mics I've got a question.

I was running one of them along side several Beta 58's for a band, all the gains were set to zero on the desk, and I checked that I had the sensitivity on the radio system set right, but the 58's were a lot loader than the radio mic.

No real problems with this, just had to increase the channel in the mix, but I was just curious to know if this is the norm when it comes to radio mics, and if so why?

I would much appreciate any responses.

Many Thanks

The correct way to set gains on the desk is to PFL the chanels one at a time, get the performer to give you an idea of level into the mic and set the gain so that the PFL meter reads just under 0dB at the loudest point. If you do this, then looking at the position of the faders will tell you instantly which chanel is loudest and which quietest, regardless of what level the radiomic is chucking out.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the reply, Yes that's how I do set the levels, it just seems that the radio mic is quietier than the 58's even if all the PFLs are set to zero.

On the mics you have a variable gain setting on one of the programme positions - it says gain, and has the gain adjustable in 10dB steps

Thanks for the reply.

I had the gains set on the radio system to -20 as described in the manual for vocals

That's a good starting point, but it depends on the vocalist.

I have run a vocal, set at -5db, on an EW365 in the past.

Adjust it to suit your vocalist/s.

(Don't forget the tonal differences of the two capsules)

Rather ironically, this evening our show came in, sound checked using the same mics, and all was well, until the show when they suddenly sang at about twice the volume - how annoying that I couldn't do the very thing we spoke about this morning!