LX Desk

Gwion

My dilema is this.

I am Technical Manager in a theatre, and, am on the lookout for a new desk. We are a multi purpose venue, with live music gigs, conferences, classical concerts, and theatre.

I'm considering a 2nd hand Jands Hog 600, and an ETC Expression 3, and can spend upto £3,000

I need a good theatre stacking desk with moving light control. I'm most familiar with Avolites desks, and have a lot of experience on the Frog range also.

With Thanks

Gwion

Can't go wrong with a Hog 1000 if you can get a second hand one at that price. I've been using Hog 500/1000s for 5 years and not really had an application they couldn't deal with until you get into sophisticated LED effects.

What do you do most of?

Who will be doing the board operating? House or touring op?

How many shows will bring their own desk?

How much time can you devote to staff training?

I love Pearls, but the theatre playback section is just plain cobblers - as it is on most of the "live" consoles.

The Expression is a great desk, but the moving light section is a bit clunky and one wouldn't want to run more than about a dozen movers from it - or at least I wouldn't. The FX section on an Expression is a bit dull and non-intuitive. However, it is an excellent desk for theatre and a good op can set it up to do most things - the older software does not do "move when dark", which is a real bore.

Some, (you know who you are), swear that the Frog range is great for theatre and mixed-programme work. I have yet to be convinced of this.

The Congo seems to be a decent console for all types of work, but is double what you have to spend. The Congo Jr strikes me as a fine desk, so it might be worth seeing what kind of deal you can get on one.

So:

Mainly theatre, conferences and concerts = theatre console

Rock and roll, one nighters = live desk