Austin Powers the musical

Big Jay

hi im new to this forum, I am a lighting design student at newcastle college performance academy, I am designer for austin powers the musical, I need help in new ideas, I have accesss to a load of thomas par64 and 6mac 250 wash and 6mac 250 spots with 2 700 spots but I dont want to use them if I dont have to any ideas please would be greatfully appriceated

Bright hippie 60's colours would not go amiss with those pars and then create a gemeral wash with the other lanterns. Perhaps if you got hold of some sort of gobo that has a 'groovie' 60's shape and put them in a profile with bright colourd gels.

Hope this helps you.

Matt

Ideas by themselves are worthless; ideas that fit the show are meaningful. Whatever you do, make sure that it fits the show, and is not just lighting for the sake of showing off.

Also, you didn't say if the kit you have access to is your entire rig, or just the gear you'll be using for effect lighting. As is always my approach to any show, make sure the audience can SEE the show first, then worry about stepping it up.

-w

Some good advice above.