DBX for foldback graphic?

Andy Dick

Hello, I'm new to the blue room but not new to technical forums and occasionally chat.

I am an engineer with BBC in Northern Ireland and own a small production company dealing in PA and lighting in small to medium sized venues around the Belfast area. There are some good professional providers here that provide one service or the other but dont deal in both. I have built up a vast range of gear since starting in 1987. I am starting to work with more professional names and am recieving riders that are beyond my inventory.

Without going crazy, as this not my full time job, I need to replace Behringer EQs and Composers with something more professional. My budget is fairly flexable but wont stretch to KT or XTA. Is DBX a step in the right direction or is there really no difference in quality? I have a DBX1231 graphic and am pleased with it.

Would a rack of DBX be a waste of money and would Band engineers just laugh? DBX166xl? I know there are topics slating and loving Behringer which I have read.

Any feedback (not howlround) would be appreciated

Andy

www.ardsoundandlighting.com

Andy

When I was looking for monitor graphics a couple of years ago I was seriously considering the DBX1231 graphic eqs I had a DN360 for FOH which fulfiled all riders happily and the 1231s appeared to be a fairly bottom of the acceptable but acceptable eq and affordable enough to put a rack of 8 monitor mixes together. It's 31band 3U and does the job basicaly.

I found Bink's GEQ shootout from the LAB very informative, and would say it is essential reading for anyone purchasing graphics in this type of position.

http://www.roaddog.com/bink/index.php