Bloodshot Eyes Makeup

paci5217

Hello everyone,

I am doing a makeup design that needs a bloodshot eye. We don't have time or money to get contact lenses. One of my friends used lemon juice during a filming. Is that safe or do you know of a better way to get the effect (using something from home if possible)? Thanks!

Laura

I'm no doctor, but I doubt anything that HURTS is going to be particularly good for you. It is the bodies natural defence system to stop you doing it again.

Are you really going to be performing close enough to an audience for them to actually see the bloodshottedness? Or would a red rim to the eye suffice?

When you note that even Optrex is now frowned upon and isn't in first aid boxes anymore, the suggestion that somebody puts an acid into your eye to deliberately make it read and bloodshot for real is unbelievable!

What happens if the lemon juice does damage? Short term, long term? Crazy!

If you ask *very* nicely then the two major contact lens companies in the UK - Ciba Vision and Cooper Vision (from memory, but something like that) will both give you a couple of cosmetic lenses for free for theatrical purposes.

I should mention they have to provide them through an opticians by law, but if the actor already has an opticians (and preferably wears lenses already) you should be able to avoid paying a nice local opticians (i.e. not specsavers) anything.

Otherwise, find an actor with hayfever and buy them lots of flowers!! Of course the sneezing may not add to their performance!

This requires acting not interfering with someone's eyes. Contact lenses are probably not the way forward either as they mainly cover the iris, not the white of the eye which is the bit that becomes bloodshot.

I should mention they have to provide them through an opticians by law,

I'm sure you used to be able to buy coloured contact lenses in Camden Market, London, England.

Of course non of this is much help if you are in Colorado.

Hello everyone,