Need help with lighting

Sorna

Hello,

I am doing a show next friday and I have to operate the lighting as well as the sound.

I am a sound engineer and I have never worked with lighting before. can anyone give me some tips and advice?

The board is a 48 way Fat Frog. I just downloaded the manual to read it. The show is a rehearsed reading that will have audience. (its not a big show).

Thanks,

Sorna

Set-up, Program as well as operate?

What's your level of experience with lighting?

Do you know what fixtures are included in the rig?

(Will all help answer the question)

The show is a rehearsed reading that will have audience. (its not a big show).

Sounds like it needs a general wash in 152 or similar skin-tone colour and maybe something to make whatever backdrop you might have look pretty. Q1 Preset; Q2 General wash; Q3 Final preset.

If you want to know how to do a general wash have a look at the FAQs at the top of the Lighting forum and read one of the recommended books.

Can't see there's any need to make it more complicated than that.

Thanks for your replys guys,

I have no experience with lighting at all! These are the fixtures they have in the venue (and I hope they are already in the rig)

9 x Patt 223 Fresnels (650w)

6 x Minuette Fresnels (650w)

4 x Patt 123 Fresnels (500w)

20 x Minuette Profiles (650w)

4 x Patt 23 Profiles (500w)

2 x Source Four Zoom Profiles (575w)

20 x Par Cans (500w)

8 x Small Floods (300w)

Sorna

I don't wanna put a downer on things but if it turns out it's not rigged it sounds like you may be in well out of your depth.

It's not a huge rig, but needless to say it's big enough to cause issues for a beginner. Are you sure there is no one who can help you? I would really start looking around for someone... local am dram etc. Where abouts are you? What kind of show is it? How big is the theatre?