Using Martin Mac 250's and Fat Frog Lighting Desk

Tom_Robbo26

Hi, Im a newbie as you can all see,

I am studying A-Level performing arts currently and in the past I have worked on many technical aspects, sound, lighting, followspot etc. And as part of the A Level course we have to do several performances, and for our next we have decided to hire 2 Martin Mac 250's.

In the past I have only ever used lighting on dimmer circuits so this is all new to me. I know the basics but there are a few questions that have arised.

I will be using a Zero 88 Fat Frog Lighting desk, and from this I wouldn't know how to get the 2 Macs to move together. As ive seen on many lighting shows before, several lights all move simultaneously together and this is an effect I would like to use, but do not know how to program this on the desk????

Also if I wish to point the lights in a certain direction to I programme this as a seperate cue or just as one.

EG cue 1: light moves into position

cue 2: light fades up

or

cue 1: light moves into position and fades up

Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance. :unsure:

Firstly Welcome to the blue room!

Secondly, the way it all works is programmed into cues.

so cue 1 is black out

cue1.5 macs move into position

cue 2 mac in position and on

The macs need there own address, from this you patch it. Its pretty easy to do.

You need a 5pin to 3pin DMX cable that connects to the 3pin for the macs.

hth

So from giving them their own address and patching them how do I then on the lighting desk set the lights to move together?

Do I hold down the 2 fixture buttons together?

And I didn't know the Mac's ran on 3 pin I thought they used 5pin instead, If so I think I need to change my hire list.

Thanks for the quick reply.

You will need to address the mac's to an address between 1 and 512.