Neutral Density

teachur

Hi All!!

I have just joined the Blue Room on a friend's advice! Cool place, I do like!

Anhyoo, my question!

I am currently working on a show where my set is goign to be in black and white. I am using no lantern stronger than 500w (small studio space) and these include Patt23, but I cannittee remember the name of the Fresnel's I have.

Anyhoo, I really want to avoid the browned/sepia type effect when an O/W lantern fades and want to try and hold durign the show as "greyscale" as I can, bearking in mind that I won't want to run all lamps at 100% all the way through the show. I have been told to look into Neutral Density filters...what do you think?

Thanks in advance for any ideas or tips!

Teachur (guess what I do!!! Oh, but I do have tech experience!!! hehe)

p.s. I am a loyal Lee Filters user!

At a wild guess you're not an English teacher but your idea about n.d. is precisely right.

Hehe

No no, I am a Drama teacher, through and through, with expereince in the technician world. I am an LX designer at heart, and did some BIG shows when at uni (in Warwick Arts Centre).

:D

Sorry, how rude of me!

Thanks for speedy reply!

You mention you don't want to run all lamps at 100% all the way through? just checking that the ones with ND in will just be the ones you want dimmer, when set to 100% - obviously, even with ND they'll warm up when you dim. Even with 500W lanterns, they will also get very hot, and probably melt/lighten up.

I'd say the idea of ND filters is precisely wrong. ND only reduces the light output which, with 500W only, you don't have a lot to spare.

I second robloxley in the suggestion that you should be looking at some colour correction filters if you just want to take the warmth out. Have a play with Lee 201 or 202.