Show control

Dave

I do a couple of small tours each year for dance shows that run to a recorded backing track. I currently run the lights manually, but I was wondering about more sophisticated options. There are a few points where a fast succession of cues is needed and it would be nice for them to happen automatically.

I'm not an expert in this field, but the ideas I came up with were:

(a) Record the soundtrack onto a timecode machine, play the timecode into an lx desk with an SMPTE input, and trigger cues off it.

(b) Use some sort of computer package that could play out the soundtrack and output DMX to drive the dimmers directly

Any suggestions? It's not large-scale and budgets are limited. I'm fully aware that I'd need to do some reprogramming to cope with differences in the rig in each venue, but from past experience it won't be that much.

The soundtrack contains stereo effects so the option of using one side of a CD for audio and the other for timecode isn't ideal. I think a timecode flash recorder might be the only practical option. Would rather not go with timecode DAT as it's on its way out. I could also use a PC with a multi-channel soundcard.

There's also the midi approach which might work well with a PC and some sequencing software.

Obviously anything with a computer brings about the usual reliability issues...

Any suggestions?

TIA,

Dave

I sequence and perform audio, video, and lighting, all single-handedly with Ableton Live.

I know it's not a professional show-control solution, but if anyone would like to point out something that can't be done with it, I'd like to know. It's extremely powerful, flexible, and inexpensive.

Your requirements are basic, and can be done with a relatively low-spec laptop, a simple MIDI controller and a MIDI>DMX converter.

There are a few options that I am aware of.