How to achieve a "curtain of light beams" effect

djwiltsh

Hi All

I want to create an effect for the time before my church's Christmas service begins that is like a curtain of light beams (if that makes sense). I have 6 Selecon aclaim zoom profiles which I am thinking of rigging from the rear stage truss, aimed at the front of the stage (approx 55 degree angle if pointing straight down counts as 90 degrees), with a hard focus. I thought that maybe a gobo with a series of circles in a line would create the effect I am looking for. All I have been able to find is this: Link.

What do you think? Am I going about this in the right way?

I am fairly new to actually designing the lighting as I am more used to progamming an existing rig, so any help would be great!

Thanks very much in advance

Daniel

Am I going about this in the right way?

You are definitely on the right track.

First thing, though, is that you are 100% going to have to use haze. Without it you won't get the effect you want.

Secondly, the lazer dots gobo you're suggesting will give you lots of little beams of light in a line which may be what you're after. However, you may prefer to use something conical like this to give a more vivid, 3D-like and exciting effect. With lots of haze 6 of these in a row would be very effective.

Am I going about this in the right way?

You are definitely on the right track.

First thing, though, is that you are 100% going to have to use haze. Without it you won't get the effect you want.

Secondly, the lazer dots gobo you're suggesting will give you lots of little beams of light in a line which may be what you're after. However, you may prefer to use something conical like this to give a more vivid, 3D-like and exciting effect. With lots of haze 6 of these in a row would be very effective.

Yep, we have haze so that will be fine.