contract V freelancing

Lena

I have a dilemma and I'm seeking advice.

After having spent the first few years of my career in producing theatre, I left to become freelance about 18 months ago.

I gave up theatre to work a couple of days a week (on average) in the conference industry. The reason for this was, as a mother to a small child I found theatre hours too unsociable. As a freelancer I have been able to pick and choose short job and make sure I don't miss important events for my daughter.

I have been lucky enough to get a few clients in the corporate world who are sympathetic to my situation, and regularly offer me short, local conferences. I get good hours and I'm happy.

The down side is that as a part time worker and full time mother, I often miss out on the usual freelance word of mouth jobs, I don't get offered long jobs or work that takes me away from home for long. This obviously means work is sporadic. Now, this isn't really a problem as my partner has been able to support us. But he has now decided to go freelance and we have no idea if we can pay the mortgage next month.

At the time he went freelance, which was when the tour he'd been on ended, I was offered a 6 week job in my local theatre. It happens to be one of the more prestigious theatres and not work you turn down if you want to progress in the industry. So I took it.

Now, here is the dilemma.

My contract ends in 2 weeks and they have offered to extend it to mid Feb. I have, today have a phone call from one of my best clients I freelance for, asking when I am available as there is lots of work coming up.

Now I am not sure who to say yes to. I would love to stay here in the theatre, as it's what I love. I would also like to know I can pay the bills till Feb, especially with Christmas round the corner. My partner has no work lined up, and we have no savings.