Setting up on your own

Shez

Morning folks,

This kind of thing has been touched on in other threads but I'd like to set up this one as seeking specific advice on this question...

My situation: I have a day job which pays the bills but work as a casual at a couple of theatres as well; these jobs are also pay-roled. I also have my own PA and recording equipment which isn't really paying its way at the moment as it tends to get used for "mates rates", beer etc. I've been engineering for several years and would consider myself good at what I do; the kit is all decent quality too so I'd like to punt out my services in a more commercial manor.

Question - what are the advantages / disadvantages of going freelance or of setting up as a small business? I'm not ditching the day job (yet...) so this would run along side it.

Broad question I know. I'm thinking ownership of current / new equipment (would my business own it or would I?); financial implications (any tax advantages either way? In general are there any issues with managing personal income from both PAYE sources and others?).

Any advice from anyone who's been there would be much appreciated ;)

Shez

To be honest, the best person to ask would be a good accountant - they really are worth every penny you pay them.