Live video camera

fredfish

Ok. at the moment, my video kit extends as far as one cheap cctv type camera and a tripod, which have been used plugged directly into a projector, to allow audiences to see the performer during organ recitals. as cheap as the camera is, it doesn't actually look half bad, but anyway, I am looking to expand my kit to include perhaps a proper camera and a basic video mixer for use at conferences etc to allow the audience to see the speaker over projectors.

basically my problem is that I can't find a camera of decent quality, which has a direct video out, and no inbuilt way of recording, as I don't need this.

My other problem is that I obviously can't afford anything like a professional broadcast camera, but am looking for something more in the price range of a good camcorder.

I have searched ebay, and the blue room but to no avail, and as I am very new to this field, I don't actually know what to look for.

please help!!

Yeah, I'm not sure why you couldn't use a 'prosumer' camera with built in recording. What's your budget? A second hand Sony VX1000 is a very capable 3-CCD very nearly broadcast quality camera for not a lot of money (£500, 600 odd?) - I've just been shooting with one that's about 8 years old and this was one loaned out to students, so it had seen a fair bit of damage and yet still seemed in good nick...

I'm surprised you couldn't find things on ebay - there are usually loads of them - typically a search for DXC will bring up some sonys, and BVW may too - although you won't want the recorder sections.