Live recording

Darkness

Hi all,

I am trying to find some kind of multi channel input for a pc so I can record (probably in adobe audition) or some other similar program.

I want somthing external so I can plug it into various computers and not restricted to my large desktop pc. So far the best thing I seem to have found is the Echo AudioFire 12. For the last show we used 9 mics and a stereo channel, im thinking about plugging into the direct out on the sound desk.

Does this sound like a good setup and as im new to this type of thing and dont realy know any manufacturers of these kind of products is there anything else on the market that may be better, obviously price is a major deciding factor. I'm just looking for advice realy on this kind of set up and any ideas are welcome

this is a pretty useful interface - I don't tend to use the 96/192 sample rates myself, but it's nice to have it if you need it. It can also cope with semi-pro and pro levels via the software which is a good indicator. The spec is fine, but most kit of this type has these figures. The software it comes with I'm not familiar with, but seems a good way of actually doing the recording, leaving the mixing to your favourite 'real' sequencer of which SX is my own choice - not because it's best, just because that's what I've grown up with.

£400 seems a fair price for such a product to me.

Echo Labs multichannel sound cards are well thought of by most people but there a great many other brands you could look at too.

Since you're likely to be using Audition for your recording, may I suggest that you look at THIS THREAD on the Audiomasters forum. (Audiomasters, if you haven't found it, is a forum dedicated entirely to supporting Cooledit/Audition users.)