Tool advice

Hey there,

I have just got my first job as a theatre tech, so am wanting to expand my tool collection. I am looking for a offset ring ratchet spanner set and was just wondering if anyone could suggest the best brand to get them from. I am still a student so my budget is not large, but I want a set that will last me a while.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Helena :o

agreed, the quad spanners are great!

another useful tool is a podger, also available from flints, has a big "pokey" bit useful for aligning stuff up, and a ratchet on the other end (most commonly a 17mm/19mm but they do others)

I'll add my voice to the recommendations for a quad spanner. I bought mine a few years back, and along with a multimeter and a #2 Pozi screwdriver (1000v VDE, of course!) it's one of the most-used tools in my case.

see if you can have a look at the new Flints catalogue - they are now offering basic toolkits aimed at different areas, eg Stage Manager's kit, Carpenters kit, Electrician's kit, with a good selection of useful things discounted from the "buy individually" price. If you've already got some bits and pieces, probably not the best way of adding to that, but if you're starting from scratch, could be a good thing. they are to be found on page 145 of the catalogue.

for things like the quad or podger, flints are the only place I've been able to find the things, they import them from Japan. someone else may know different?

for things like the quad or podger, flints are the only place I've been able to find the things, they import them from Japan. someone else may know different?

There were some alternative suppliers for podgers mentioned in this thread (about podgers) not so long ago.

Sean

x

Hey Helena,