Rigging with chain hoists...

dave singleton

Before mods jump in I did use the search function but I couldnt find the exact thing I was after.

Im looking to fly a truss rig in a leisure centre in Crawley (West Sussex). They are currently mid install from Unusual Rigging having points installed (brand new centre).

Firstly I want to understand as much about the rigging process as possible. I understand how hoists are rigged etc what I am interested in knowing is what cabling is needed from Stage Electrics to get the rig going?

Secondally, I no full well im not experienced enough to put my name on flying with hoists. I've done it before but this is a big rig so I dont want to get anything wrong which could in effect kill someone. So is there any Experienced Riggers out there fairly local to Crawley that would be able to help out on the 29th April?

I'd suggest picking up a copy of Chris Higgs' book "An Introduction To Rigging In The Entertainment Industry", published by Entertainment Technology Press. Lots and lots of great info in there.

Cabling - if you're hiring rigging from Stage Electrics, they'll be able to tell you what cables you need to go with the kit you're hiring. Ask them.