Drawmer DS201

Rich

Hi Folks.

Just got back from a gig where I've used a Drawmer DS201 noise gate which I bought secondhand on EBay.

I Popped a kick drum on one side, and a snare on the other. Works fine, but it makes a click when it opens. The click is on both gates, but only evident on the kick drum, I presume the snare hid the click. Higher pitched than beater noise, and distorted.

Is this normal? I ask because I've never used Drawmer gates before, only Behringer, and my Multigate doesn't produce any click when it opens.

Many thanks. Richard

... Works fine, but it makes a click when it opens.

Dont wish to be seen to be teaching my GrandMa to suck eggs here, but you have tried reducing the rate of attack?

Edited to fix the spelling and gramatical errors. Yes, errors plural, not bad for a short one sentence comment.

I feel a bit of a t*t now.

Since reading your posts I've been on the Drawmer website and looked at the manual for the 201, and yes it would seem that I was at fault because I didn't reduce the attack at all.

I've never actually used the attack on a gate before, only the threshold and, hold and release. The Multigate I've used doesn't have an attack pot.

I'm sure everything will be fine once I've adjusted the attack.

Thanks Guys. Rich

... Multigate I've used doesn't have an attack pot.