Mixing desk into amp/mixer

rossmc

Hello all,

I have some experience attempting to do sound for some local gigs, mainly through hired systems. I have been asked to try and setup a rock/pop gig in a school hall in Feb.

After looking at the kit they have my options are a little more limited than usual. They have a Carlsbro 150W PA system, the PA amp and mixer are a built in unit. Would I be able to get away with the correct leads plugging in a 16 channel Allen + Heath mixing desk I have into one of the inputs on their PA amp/mixer combo? Basically using the combo unit in place of a power amp and using the A+H mixer for mixing mics?

Thanks,

rossmc

:)! Glad to know I'll atleast have some luck as I'm not having any with the owners of the school (private company\public partnership).

Who installed a 32 channel mixing desk, 2 power amps (600W system) and thought the school tech was joking when he said the 2 wedge monitors (100W) they provided were adequate for loudspeakers. Fun and games!

Am I right in thinking I need a lead with 2 jacks on one end and 1 jack on the other in order to get the correct output from the desk? - Stereo balance? Sorry for my ignorance, I'm still learning unfortunately and have no proper training other than my own tinkering around !

you would have to expand a little on this last bit.

Its important that you get this right or you could have some interesting results.

If this is a stereo pa system then you would need an output of the left channel on the desk into one channel on the calsbro unit. then the right output from the desk to another. simply pan the left channel left and the right channel right on the calsbro combo.

If it is just a mono combo then just use both outputs seperatly. if you only have 1 input available on this combo DO NOT try and use a Y lead to join two signals together. the low Z out of the right hand channel on the desk would get driven by the left channel etc. particularly with high Z inputs on the combo.