digital snake for house of worship help

chrisani

Hi there!

We are thinking of using a digital snake instead of the normal multicore cable for our church system? We have a 48 ch, analog console.

The available system that I know of is from Aviom and Netcira.

Questions: Granting that we have decided on a digital system

- What are the things to consider in setting up a digital snake system except for the number of inputs and outputs we need? Do we still need preamps aside the ones in the mixing board input?

- Latency problems?

- Sound quality?

- Between Aviom and Netcira, which one should we consider unless there are others out there that we should check out?

Thanks so much! Digital Newbie here. Sorry.

Chris

Hi, Chrisani,

Having followed your previous posts, I guess this is to go in your 3500 seater facility?

At the risk of stating the obvious, I would choose the mixing desk first. If you are going to buy something in the PM1D, D5 or Venue end of the spectrum, you will be buying into their complete package, including a digital snake.

Otherwise, considering the cost of the system, I would audition it. Latency may be an issue, and Ethersound appear to have the lead here, but I understand their system is more suited for point to point use. The Cobranet based systems appear to be capable of more complex audio distribution.

You must let us know which church you go to... It sounds like it's getting an excellent sound system ;-)

Did you get in touch with any consultants with regards to your loudspeaker type and placement? The latest issue of Sound & Video Contractor runs a very good article on the Mariners Church, and on the approaches they have taken to provide workable sound, lighting and video in their worship space. (See here) They used Acoustic Dimensions as their consultants, and from what I have read of them, and the brief chat I have had with one of their consultants, they are well placed to help you.

Regards,

Simon