USB to DMX interface and Software

lasander79

Hello

I work in a school and have an intermediate knowledge of stage lighting.

We have 16 LED light units and a basic lighting desk to control them - QTX DM-X18

I've been frustrated using it as it doesn't allow us to to dissolve from one preset to another. We can only switch instantaneouly or fade out - switch preset - then fade in.

I'm looking for great control and interetsed in trying out some of the third party software that is available to control lights from a computer.

I'm basically looking for any recommendations on software and a USB to DMX interface that will support at least 16 LED lighting units.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards,

Liam.

ls@waleshigh.com

Hello

I work in a school and have an intermediate knowledge of stage lighting.

We have 16 LED light units and a basic lighting desk to control them - QTX DM-X18

I've been frustrated using it as it doesn't allow us to to dissolve from one preset to another. We can only switch instantaneouly or fade out - switch preset - then fade in.

I'm looking for great control and interetsed in trying out some of the third party software that is available to control lights from a computer.

I'm basically looking for any recommendations on software and a USB to DMX interface that will support at least 16 LED lighting units.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards,

Liam.

ls@waleshigh.com

You may want to look at Magicq software by Chamsys ...there is a free version and they also supply a USB to DMX dongle for £10 so you can quickly see whether it meets your needs.

• 3 weeks later...

Well, I had to use DAS a few times, but think it's something for the DJ boys, not for theatre or live.