Sound for a band

dfinn

Hi,

Ive been given the job of doing sound for my schools Tsnuami band appeal. Its basically a load of our school bands doing a few songs each plus the teahcer doing a few bits to raise money for the Tsunami.

I have never done sound for a band gig before and need help on basically how things are generally set up.

Do I run everyhting through the main PA, do I run mics and kit through pa and let gitars run through their own amps?

The hall is your average achool hall seating about 150 - 200max.

Sound rig includes 4kw ish warfedale rig, 4 tops 2 ubs, 4 monitros (2 active 2 passiv so can only run 2 separate monitro channles), 24ch sound desk, eq, over etc

I just need to know how I would go about it.

Thanks

Daniel

Recently did something along these lines at my old school,

We soundchecked the microphones until they were as loud as possible pre-feedback, then turned up the guitar and bass amps so they were still just below this level, and then made up the rest through the main PA to balance it all out. This way you aren't pushing your PA too hard.

You may find that you only need a small amount of drums running through your PA, we used just a little to balance the whole thing, in a small venue the drums might be almost loud enough.

Basically to answer the question, you want to have control over the levels of everything on the stage to be able to balance it nicely, so you want it all going through the main speakers a little bit.

:)

Good advice from audio. Ideally you'd be mixing everything, but with a typical school rig (actually yours sounds rather better than typical!) you likely won't have the "ooomph" to run over the top of the backline amps and drums. Even so, it's worth miking or DIing everything into your board to give you a bit of control.