second hand dimmers

Mr.Si

Hi guys and gals,

I'm fairly new to lighting stuff, as I am a soundie by trade, but...

I have in my possession, 12 Thomas Par 64's (long nose ones :D ) with 500W wide lamps in 'em.

but I have no dimmers or control as yet.

I wanna go the DMX route if I possibly can but I don't know which are DMX and which are analogue.

I have seen some dimmers on the good old Used lighting .co.uk site which are:

Strand Tempus for 200 + VAT

Zero88 Betapacks for 275 + VAT

any of these ok?

Also, I am watching a couple of consoles on ebay at the moment,

- Pulsar Masterpiece 48 (in case)

- Zero88 Level 24 Plus

any of these ok?

(Sorry, moderators, if this has been posted before, I did a search but couldn't find anything relevant for me)

Thanks for your help

Mr. Si

The tempus dimmers have been around for a while - I remember hiring a set over 20 years ago. They work well and easy to repair. Heavy.

They will be analogue, and will almost certainly use 0 > -10v rather than 0- +10v control signals. Building a converter isn't rocket science, but also isn't trivial.

(I have an old tempus controller which I invert and use with +10v dimmers)

Betapacks - If I remember correctly they come in both analogue and DMX versions.

Bruce.

have you looked at behringers desks and dimmers?

http://www.behringer.com/LC2412/index.cfm?lang=ENG

http://www.behringer.com/LD6230/index.cfm?lang=ENG

these are great if you just want basic generic control, and you can get some quite cheap prices on them from thomann and others:

http://www.netzmarkt.de/thomann/thoiw2_beh...t_prodinfo.html

http://www.netzmarkt.de/thomann/thoiw2_beh...k_prodinfo.html

as to what you have posted there (I'm sure others will correct me) I think betapacks are DMX. a master piece would be IMHO a bit over the top for controlling a few pars is this is a mover desk and the level 24 plus I suspect is analouge although it might be the DMX version

I hope that is helpful