omnitronic DX-2222, 3 way speakers but crossover circuit

monsterer

Hi guys,

This is my first post on this forum - I'm totally new to PA speakers and my electronics skills aren't brilliant... :rolleyes:

However, I recently bought a pair of omnitronic dx-2222 speakers which are three way (piezo tweeter, horn and 2 woofers) and while I was fixing a problem with the contacts on the connectors (which had come lose and didn't work out of the box) I noticed that the crossover circuit is only two way, with both horn and tweeter being driven from the same source.

The odd thing is that the crossover circuit-board itself does have mid-range tracks on the board but the components aren't soldered on there. In the picture you can see the M marking in the middle, but there isn't anything connected to it.

The question is, how difficult would it be to turn this into a proper 3 way crossover? The midrange is understandibly 'lacking' compared to a reference set of speakers I've got.

The speaker unit is rated at 500W RMS, at 8ohms. I have an actual wiring diagram of the circuit if anyone needs it?

Cheers, Paul.

http://www.pfirth.co.uk/catspeaker_002.jpg

Okey, I've scanned the circuit diagram:

http://www.pfirth.co.uk/crossover.jpg

While I can't help you on turning your boxes into true 3way, I believe I can offer an explanation as to why the 'mid' horn and HF tweeters are fed from he same part of the crossover, this be because they're both Piezos..

Thats also why the mids lacking, seeing as theirs no dedicated driver for it, those frequencies are just made from a mush of the ones made by the LF & HF drivers.. But you already knew that :rolleyes:

Turning them into proper 3way boxes sounds like a good idea, the large horn should be able to handle a fair bit of the mid range stuff sent to it and you'll finally be able to get something half decent out the cabs :)

Tom