Seeking advice: interesting charity sound installation

mark76uk

Hello,

I'm an IT Technician at a residential college for 60 students with disabilities. We had £2700 donated (the college is part of a charity) for theatre equipment. This is the first investment in sound/lights for ten or fifteen years!

I'm a lighting guy, but planning the sound part is marginally worrying. Maybe someone can give some input, if you have a moment? I have researched this a lot, as I knew nothing about watts and ohms before!

The student common room is where most of our events occur, including discos, theatre, graduation and christmas concerts, etc. It's approximately 20 metres by 8 metres and 3 metres high.

The plan so far: We plan to have four speakers on swivel wall brackets. Diagram is below! This is because events may be staged anywhere in the room. Discos and theatre events are mostly staged at one end of the room, but some musical events are staged in the centre.

I plan to get a Behringer UB2442FX-PRO Mixer and two stereo amps. The mixer has four subgroups. Each subgroup output will control one speaker. In this way all four speakers can be used appropriate to the position of a performance. We have had a problem using just two speakers - a sonic blast near the front so that people near the back may hear. The four speaker solution will act like additional speaker towers at the back of an outdoor concert.

The sound equipment (amp, mixer, cd) will be on a rackmount trolley. To avoid cables crossing doors there'll be four sockets where the trolley can be plugged-in. These will be 8pin Speakon connectors, cabled up the wall using 8core 2.5mm cable to a central point of 'choc block' connector inside the ceiling. From this central joiner 2core 2.5mm cable will distribute the power out to the speakers. In this way, the sound trolley can be situated anywhere, with a single 8core cable plugged into any of the wall sockets.

Sound cabling: