DMX timer

andysnow

Hi, I am a newbie here but I need some help with DMX. We are going to install 6 snow machines with DMX capability, the machines have a timer function built into them however the interval time is only 6 mins maximum! I want the interval time greater than 6 mins. I deally 30mins or 60 mins or even 90 mins every day. Does anyone know if this function can be achieved with a DMX controller that is reasonably priced. The machines only require 2 channels. I hope someone can help. Thanking in advance.

I've got some spare boards which could do that easily and the firmware would only need a minor tweak or two. Do you just need one? Do you need to be able to change the DMX address or could it be hard coded into the box?

There’s a lot of reasons why you don’t want / shouldn’t have snow machines running “automatically” because tiny problems can quickly become huge ones...

Anything you use should really have some sort of preset timer that specifically requires regular verification so that you still have the protection of an operator making sure there’s nothing going wrong.

Edited by ImagineerTom

There’s a lot of reasons why you don’t want / shouldn’t have snow machines running “automatically” because tiny problems can quickly become huge ones...

Anything you use should really have some sort of preset timer that specifically requires regular verification so that you still have the protection of an operator making sure there’s nothing going wrong.

Excellent advice. A box with a start and stop button which just provides a single burst of snow for a predetermined time.

the channels can remain the same. Would want the snow to come on at say 10am for 3 mins then come back on at 11am for 3 mins so every hour throughout the day!

I have been told by the supplier of the machines that this will do the jobthat this will do the job

Eurolite SAP-512 MK2 Standalone-Player but its expensive and does alot more than I need!