PG Dip Production Managment Help?

Hi,

I realise this question has probably been asked in many forms but I'm looking for some specific answers to questions I can't seem to get a straightforward answer for online, as well as some general insight from people who may have studied this course or similar....

I'm looking into studying the PG dip in production managment at Bristol old Vic, I've been working in theatre professionally for 5 years across most technical departments, most ly lighting and stage crew as well as some freelance stage management and I would like to take this further and move up into the world of touring and stage/production management, and this seems to be the best course for it.

What I'd really like some help with are the following questions:

1) Am I eligible for student finance, considering I have used 3 years worth on an unrelated degree (english)?

2)Are there any bursaries available other than the John pitt ( as this covers only £4000 of the £6000+ fees, not including living costs assuming I wouldnt have time to work outside of the degree?

3) Has anyone done this course, and is it worthwhile, or am I better off continuing to crew locally and hope I get a chance to prove myself with touring companies, I just feel there is a lot I can't learn as casual/freelance crew, and does this qualification hold its weight in the professional world?

and just any general information/knowledge/advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I'm just looking for a way forward, I understand getting good work in this industry is rare and difficult, I just want to do my all to get there.

Many thanks.

Josie - this perhaps sounds agist, but you're 33 now, and you're looking at nearer 40 than 30 when you finish, if you get funding, which to be honest, I doubt.